General Information about the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

Afghanistan is known as the crossroads of Asia. It is bordered in the north by Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan, in the west by Iran, in the south by Pakistan, and China to the east. For more than 2000 years, this area has been the site of ancient trade routes collectively known as the Silk Road. Always an important link between east and west, Afghanistan remains a critical and dynamic place on earth.

It’s population is around 29,863,000  and its territory extends over 652,000 sq km/251,737 sq miles.

Pashto and Dari are Afghanistan’s official languages. Afghanistan’s Constitution stipulates that all other languages are “official” in the areas in which they are spoken by a majority of the population. Many Afghans are multi-lingual. Uzbek and Turkic languages are spoken widely in the north. Smaller groups throughout the country also speak more than 70 other languages and numerous dialects. The country’s capital is Kabul.